Bengal Under-19 cricket team won the Cooch Bihar Trophy after 19 years

The Bengal Under-19 Cricket team created history after 19 long years, as they won the prestigious Cooch Behar Trophy by taking a crucial lead of 79 runs in the first innings against hosts Delhi at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium on 22nd January.

Right-handed batsman Saurabh Singh showed unbelievable temperament as he batted nearly six sessions to score 196 and power Bengal U-19 side to a title triumph over Delhi. In reply to Delhi colts’ first innings score of 314, Bengal scored 393 in their first innings, riding on a 182-run sixth wicket stand between Saurabh and Kanishk Seth (91). The duo showed immense power of concentration on a low and slow Kotla track to out bat the hosts. This was after being reduced to 180 for six.

The last time Bengal won the title was way back in 1997-98 with a team comprising Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Shiv Sagar Singh to name a few.

“Congratulations 2 Bengal under 19 cricket team boys on winning d Cooch behar trophy. U al hav made our bengal cricket fraternity proud” tweeted Manoj Tiwary.

You can share this post!